Sidney Poitier biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sidney Poitier

Sidney Poitier

Sidney Poitier Biography

Sidney Poitier was born prematurely on February 20, 1927 on a boat, en route to Miami, Florida.  He grew up in The Bahamas, leaving school when he was thirteen.  When he was 16, he went to live with his brother in Florida.  He served briefly in the US Army before moving to New York where he successfully auditioned for the American Negro Theater. 

His Broadway debut in 1946, was an all-black production of 'Lysistrata'.  Four years later he made his film debut with No Way Out.  His performance in The Blackboard Jungle (1995) brought much praise and in 1958 he earned his first Academy Award nomination for his role in The Defiant Ones.

He was the first African-American to win an Academy Award (Oscar) for "Best Actor in a Leading Role" for Lilies of the Field (1963), and only the second African-American to win an Oscar of any type (Hattie McDaniel won "Best Actress in a Supporting Role for Gone with the Wind, 1940).  During the 1960s he continued to act in many movies including In the Heat of the Night (1967) and Guess Who's Coming to Dinner (1967).

In 1969, he founded the First Artists Production Company and, in 1972, announced his directorial debut with Buck and the Preacher.  During the 1970s he directed a number of comedies including Stir Crazy (1980) and Ghost Dad (1990).  

In the late 1980s he returned to acting after taking a 10-year break, and appeared in Shoot to Kill (1988), Little Nikita (1988), Sneakers (1992), and One Man, One Vote (1997).  In 1996 he starred in the long-awaited follow-up to his '67 success, To Sir With Love, in the TV movie To Sir With Love 2.

In 2001, he received a Grammy Award for Best Spoken Word Album for his autobiographical book The Measure of a Man (his second memoir following This Life, published in 1980). In 2002, he received and an honorary Oscar.  Overall, he has starred in more than forty films, directed nine and written four. He published his first novel, Montaro Caine, in 2013.

He was appointed a Knight Commander of the British Empire in 1974.  He has also served as non-resident Bahamian ambassador to Japan and to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.  He is also a recipient of the Screen Actors Guild's highest honor, the Life Achievement Award for an outstanding career and humanitarian accomplishment

He was married to Juanita Hardy from 1950 until 1965; the couple has four children. He is now married to Canadian-born actress Joanna Shimkus, they have two children.



This bio was last updated on 05/31/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sidney Poitier at BookBrowse
Montaro Caine jacket The Measure of A Man jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sidney Poitier but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Alan Alda

    Alan Alda

    Alan Alda played Hawkeye Pierce for eleven years in the television series M*A*S*H and has acted in, written, and directed many feature films. He has starred often on Broadway, and his avid interest in science has led to him ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Measure of A Man

    Try:
    Never Have Your Dog Stuffed
    by Alan Alda

  • Lance Armstrong

    Lance Armstrong

    Lance Armstrong was born in September 1971, in Plano, Texas. He became a professional triathlete aged 16 and in 1989 the U.S. Olympic development team invited him to train as cyclist. He placed 11th in the World ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Measure of A Man

    Try:
    It's Not About the Bike
    by Lance Armstrong

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: All the Devils Are Here
    All the Devils Are Here
    by Louise Penny
    In Louise Penny's All the Devils Are Here, the 16th book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: A Girl is A Body of Water
    A Girl is A Body of Water
    by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
    First Impressions readers were fascinated by A Girl Is a Body of Water, a riveting and nuanced novel...
  • Book Jacket
    Heaven, My Home
    by Attica Locke
    Attica Locke's 2017 novel Bluebird, Bluebird introduced us to Texas Ranger Darren Mathews, who ...
  • Book Jacket: Transcendent Kingdom
    Transcendent Kingdom
    by Yaa Gyasi
    Yaa Gyasi's (pronounced "yah jessie") Transcendent Kingdom is, among other things, a meditation on ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke

    A new novel from the NY Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Shadow King
by Maaza Mengiste

An unforgettable epic shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive
by Natasha Trethewey

The moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of tragedy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L N Take I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.