Dave Pelzer biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dave Pelzer

Dave Pelzer

Dave Pelzer Biography

Dave Pelzer is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Child Called "It", The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave, Help Yourself, and The Privilege of Youth. He travels more than 250 days a year throughout the nation speaking to large groups of youth and adults on the topics of resilience and overcoming obstacles. He has appeared on the Oprah Winfrey Show, and Larry King Live, among other national shows.

Dave Pelzer's website

This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An extensive and inspiring interview with Dave Pelzer by the person who knows him best, his wife, Marsha Pelzer. Whatever you thought you knew about Dave, you'll finish this interview knowing more than you did!

After years of having interview after interview only for Dave to be labeled as "That Child Abuse Guy" and knowing there are so many layers to Dave, our office decided to interview Dave ourselves. His life is more than what's written between the pages of his books, more than what you see from him on stage, TV, or hear on the radio; and until now there hasn't been a more candid look at who Dave is now. So, if you've read the books, we'll tell you what he's doing now; if you've forgotten, then we'll include a bit of a refresher; and if you don't know who Dave is at all then we'll give you a taste. Either way, you'll finish reading knowing more than you did and hopefully have more meaning about his life and yours. In the end, we hope you'll feel inspired, alter your course, or find a whole new direction in life. As Dave's wife, best friend, business V.P, and soul mate, and after five months of research, I am honored to present an extensive inside glance at a self made man.

I anxiously watch out the window as Dave backs into the parking lot and I time my arrival into his office just as he drops his 150-pound cargo onto the floor: a beat-up...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dave Pelzer at BookBrowse
Moving Forward jacket The Privilege of Youth jacket A Man Named Dave jacket The Lost Boy jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dave Pelzer but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lance Armstrong

    Lance Armstrong

    Lance Armstrong was born in September 1971, in Plano, Texas. He became a professional triathlete aged 16 and in 1989 the U.S. Olympic development team invited him to train as cyclist. He placed 11th in the World ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Privilege of Youth

    Try:
    It's Not About the Bike
    by Lance Armstrong

  • Lisa Brennan-Jobs

    Lisa Brennan-Jobs

    Lisa Nicole Brennan-Jobs was born May 17, 1978, and is the daughter of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs and Chrisann Brennan. For several years, Jobs denied paternity, which led to a legal case and various media reports in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Man Named Dave

    Try:
    Small Fry
    by Lisa Brennan-Jobs

We recommend 16 similar authors

View all 16 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Memorial Drive
    Memorial Drive
    by Natasha Trethewey
    On June 5, 1985, Natasha Trethewey's mother, Gwendolyn Turnbough, was murdered by her ex-husband, ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Devils Are Here
    All the Devils Are Here
    by Louise Penny
    In Louise Penny's All the Devils Are Here, the 16th book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: A Girl is A Body of Water
    A Girl is A Body of Water
    by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
    First Impressions readers were fascinated by A Girl Is a Body of Water, a riveting and nuanced novel...
  • Book Jacket
    Heaven, My Home
    by Attica Locke
    Attica Locke's 2017 novel Bluebird, Bluebird introduced us to Texas Ranger Darren Mathews, who ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke

    A new novel from the NY Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Shadow King
by Maaza Mengiste

An unforgettable epic shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive
by Natasha Trethewey

The moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of tragedy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L N Take I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.