Joseph Gangemi biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Joseph Gangemi.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Joseph Gangemi

Joseph Gangemi

Joseph Gangemi Biography

Joseph Gangemi was born in Wilmington, Delaware, in 1970. An early love of science fiction took him to the Clarion Writers Workshop in 1986, where he was the youngest attendee in the workshop's history. Shortly thereafter he made his first professional sale, publishing a short story in the speculative fiction anthology Full Spectrum II.

Gangemi graduated from Swarthmore, a small Quaker liberal arts college outside Philadelphia, with a degree in psychology. His friend Jon Cohen, a Swarthmore native and novelist, approached him about collaborating on a screenplay. The partnership produced Crossover, a thriller about a team of vampire heart surgeons, which was subsequently optioned by Interscope Films. Several solo screenplays followed, resulting eventually in the 1997 spec sale of Black Ice to New Line Cinema. Now screenwriting full-time, Gangemi worked on open writing for Warner Brothers. The film Wind Chill, for which he wrote the screenplay, was released in 2007.

Gangemi's ongoing interest in unexplored footnotes in history has lead to him writing -- over ten intense months of 2002 -- his first novel. Inamorata was published in 2004. Set in 1920s Philadelphia, and featuring a cast of skeptical graduate students, morphine addicts, beguiling spirit-mediums, sadistic gynecologists, peg-legged Filipino butlers, and a talkative ghost (who bites), Inamorata takes place only a few blocks from the Rittenhouse Square home where he previously lived.

This biography was last updated on 12/04/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Joseph Gangemi discusses the story behind his first book, Inamorata

"A few years ago, while browsing in the gift shop of Philadelphia's White Dog Café, I came across Peter Washington's book MADAME BLAVATSKY'S BABOON: A HISTORY OF THE MYSTICS, MEDIUMS, AND MISFITS WHO BROUGHT SPIRITUALISM TO AMERICA (Schocken, 1993). What was one of the city's premiere restaurants doing selling books on the occult? Turns out the White Dog occupies an old row house that was home at one time to the colorful Madame Blavatsky (1831 - 1891)... Russian emigré, rumored spy, and founder of the occult religion Theosophy.

As a fan of obscure history I bought the book, and over the next few days delighted in Washington's cast of colorful Victorian oddballs. I had recently sold an original screenplay set at the turn of the century, and I was casting about, in the daydreamy, directionless way I do between projects, for good topics for a follow-up period piece. I began toying with the idea of a fictionalized retelling of the life of 20th Century occult guru Krisnamurti, and was just starting to dig a little deeper into the history of Spiritualism when I came across a footnote that stopped me in my tracks.

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joseph Gangemi at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Inamorata
Inamorata

by Joseph Gangemi

It's 1922 and Martin Finch is on the case of a lifetime—to determine whether a beautiful Philadelphia socialite is able to contact the spirit realm. He is prepared to debunk a fraud but instead the man of science falls in love with the medium in this debut historical thriller.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joseph Gangemi but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Julian Barnes

    Julian Barnes

    Julian Barnes was born in Leicester, England on January 19, 1946. He was educated at the City of London School from 1957 to 1964 and at Magdalen College, Oxford, from which he graduated in modern languages (with honors)... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Inamorata

    Try:
    Arthur & George
    by Julian Barnes

  • Ian Caldwell

    Ian Caldwell

    Ian Caldwell attended Princeton University, where he studied history. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa in 1998. He began writing The Rule of Four with his best friend, Dustin Thomason, after graduation. He lives in Newport News, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Inamorata

    Try:
    The Rule of Four
    by Ian Caldwell

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin
  2.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh

All Discussions

Who Said...

Harvard is the storehouse of knowledge because the freshmen bring so much in and the graduates take so little out.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.