Martha Ackmann biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Martha Ackmann.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Martha Ackmann
Photo: Donna Cote

Martha Ackmann

Martha Ackmann Biography

Martha Ackmann is a journalist, author and editor who writes about women who have changed America. Her works have appeared in The New York Times, The Boston Globe, the Los Angeles Times, and many other publications around the country. A frequent contributor to the op-ed pages of the nation's newspapers, Ackmann focuses on science, women's history, medicine, politics and sports. She is also a commentator for National Public Radio.

Ackmann's book, The Mercury 13, tells the story of thirteen women pilots who secretly tested to become America's first woman in space. Her newest book, Curveball, recounts the life of the remarkable Toni Stone, baseball's "female Jackie Robinson." Ackmann has been featured on many television and radio programs, including The Today Show, CNN, BBC and Voice of America programs.

A much sought after public speaker, Ackmann addresses colleges and universities as well as history museums, government agencies, corporate and business groups and professional organizations. A member of the faculty of the Gender Studies Department at Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts, Ackmann teaches courses in women's public writing. A long-time scholar of the Emily Dickinson's work and the president of the Emily Dickinson International Society, Ackmann teaches a popular seminar every fall in the Dickinson Homestead in Amherst, Massachusetts—the very site where Emily Dickinson wrote her memorable poems. Ackmann earned her B.A. from Lindenwood College, an M.A. from Middlebury College, and a Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts. She is the recipient of a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship and is the former Augustus Anson Whitney Scholar in Non-Fiction at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.

Born and raised in St. Louis, Ackmann has worked as a high school journalism teacher, an editorial writer, a radio reporter and an instructor of countless sections of freshman composition. In her early twenties as a media publicist, she wrote plot synopses for TV Guide.

Ackmann now lives in rural western Massachusetts. She is writing a new book about poet Emily Dickinson, tentatively entitled Vesuvius at Home.

Link to Martha's website

This biography was last updated on 01/14/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Martha Ackmann at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Mercury 13
The Mercury 13

by Martha Ackmann

A tribute to 13 extraordinary women who passed the same battery of tests as did the Mercury 7 astronauts, but were summarily dismissed by the boys’ club at NASA and on Capitol Hill. An unforgettable story of determination, resilience, and inextinguishable hope.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Martha Ackmann but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Liv Arnesen

    Liv Arnesen

    Liv (pronounced 'leave') Arnesen's rich life experiences, both on and off the ice, have made her an internationally recognized leader and role model for women and girls. A self-proclaimed "keen" but not ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Mercury 13

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Liv Arnesen

  • Ann Bancroft

    Ann Bancroft

    Ann Bancroft is one of the world's preeminent polar explorers and an internationally recognized leader who is dedicated to inspiring women and girls around the world to unleash the power of their dreams. Through her various ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Mercury 13

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Ann Bancroft

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  129Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.