Karen Wunderman biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Karen Wunderman.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Karen Wunderman
©karenwunderman.com

Karen Wunderman

Karen Wunderman Biography

Karen Wunderman spent her childhood in a suburb of New York and her adolescence in Manhattan. After receiving a B.A. in history from Alfred University, she attended Teachers College, Columbia University, where she wrapped up her education with a M.A. in Philosophy of Education and a M.Ed. in Curriculum & Teaching. She held a few unusual teaching jobs and then decided to mix her academic expertise with her love of writing by pursuing a career in educational publishing. She is the author and contributing author of many textbooks and other educational materials. When not writing for love or for money, she spends her time tending her gardens in Cranbury, New Jersey, where she lives with her husband, two children, and an assortment of four-legged creatures. She is an ardent photo hobbyist; one of her photographs appears on the cover of her novel. Winterkill.

Link to Karen's website

This biography was last updated on 12/30/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Karen Wunderman,
author of Winterkill

The subject of communism sets up a negative reaction in many people. Why did you choose this subject? Were you concerned that it might turn people away from the book rather than help increase sales?
First of all, the book isn't about communism per se, but rather about persecution and self-acceptance. I used communism as a vehicle for exploring those themes. The disillusionment and shame communists from the thirties and forties were left with always fascinated me. Why was it so hard for them to accept that what they'd believed in wasn't what they'd thought it was? Why were these people, who fundamentally had good intentions, forced to live in shame and secrecy? McCarthyism and the witch-hunts of the 1950s are the obvious answer, but for many, the anti-aggression pact between Hitler and Stalin in 1939 was the defining moment. Americans, communist or otherwise, couldn't ally themselves with a government that supported Hitler. I've never defended the communist movement in this country, but I've tried to understand its roots, and it afforded me the perfect vehicle for the character and story I had in mind. I have been concerned ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Karen Wunderman at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Winterkill
Winterkill

by Karen Wunderman

For ten years, Ben Dalton has been fighting to keep his past a secret, but he's about to crash headlong into one of life's immutable truths: No matter how hard he runs, no matter how hard he tries, he can't outrun his past. And when it catches up to him, it just might destroy him.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Karen Wunderman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tim Gautreaux

    Tim Gautreaux

    Born and raised in Louisiana, Tim Gautreaux lives there, in Hammond, with his family, and is Writer-in-Residence at Southeastern Louisiana University. His work has appeared in Harper's, The Atlantic Monthly, GQ, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Winterkill

    Try:
    The Clearing
    by Tim Gautreaux

  • Deon Meyer

    Deon Meyer

    Deon Meyer was born in the South African town of Paarl in the winelands of the Western Cape in 1958, and grew up in Klerksdorp, in the gold mining region of Northwest Province.

    After military duty and studying at the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Winterkill

    Try:
    Thirteen Hours
    by Deon Meyer

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  166The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.