Jim Fusilli biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jim Fusilli

Jim Fusilli

How to pronounce Jim Fusilli: fooh-ZEEL-lee

Jim Fusilli Biography

Jim Fusilli is an American writer who is the rock and pop music critic of The Wall Street Journal and author of several novels and a non-fiction book. He resides in New York City.

In 2012, Fusilli launched a new mystery series with Road to Nowhere, the tale of a troubled drifter who witnesses a brutal assault on a young woman. When his estranged teenage daughter is threatened, he's hurled into a turbulent world of violence and intrigue that careens from the Midwest to Hollywood and across the country to Wall Street. Its sequel, Billboard Man, was published in September 2013.

Narrows Gate, published in 2011, is an epic set in the years surrounding World War II in a gritty Italian-American community in the shadow of New York City. It is based loosely on Hoboken, New Jersey, where Fusilli was born.

A graduate of St. Peter's College, Fusilli began his journalism career at the Jersey Journal. When The Wall Street Journal launched its Leisure & Arts page in the early 1980s, Fusilli began contributing articles on rock and jazz. He was named the Journal's rock & pop critic in 2008, at which time he began writing a weekly column for the newspaper and its website,wsj.com.

Fusilli has served as the editor of, and contributed chapters to, the serial thrillers The Chopin Manuscript and The Copper Bracelet.

Fusilli is married to the former Diane Holuk, a global communications executive.

Jim Fusilli's website

This bio was last updated on 01/01/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jim Fusilli at BookBrowse
A Well-Known Secret jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jim Fusilli but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lee Child

    Lee Child

    Lee Child was born in the exact geographic center of England, in the heart of the industrial badlands. Never saw a tree until he was twelve. It was the sort of place where if you fell in the river, you had to go to the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Well-Known Secret

    Try:
    Without Fail
    by Lee Child

  • Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly decided to become a writer after discovering the books of Raymond Chandler while attending the University of Florida. Once he decided on this direction he chose a major in journalism and a minor in creative ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Well-Known Secret

    Try:
    City of Bones
    by Michael Connelly

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Exiles
    The Exiles
    by Christina Baker Kline
    A young governess finds herself pregnant and in prison for theft and attempted murder. An Irish ...
  • Book Jacket: White Too Long
    White Too Long
    by Robert P. Jones
    Religious scholar Robert P. Jones doesn't pull any punches in his latest book, White Too Long: The ...
  • Book Jacket: Caste
    Caste
    by Isabel Wilkerson
    In 2020, the word "racist" remains taboo. Conceptually, racism is so culturally unacceptable, so ...
  • Book Jacket: The Deepest South of All
    The Deepest South of All
    by Richard Grant
    Author Richard Grant frequently uses his wanderlust to explore diverse stories that create a complex...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Blind Light
    by Stuart Evers

    A multigenerational story about two families bound together by the tides of history.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Agent Sonya

Agent Sonya: Moscow's Most Daring Wartime Spy

Master storyteller Ben Macintyre tells the true story behind the Cold War's most intrepid female spy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I M B T Give T T R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.