Anthony A. Goodman biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Anthony A. Goodman.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Anthony A. Goodman

Anthony A. Goodman

Anthony A. Goodman Biography

Anthony A. Goodman, M.D, F.A.C.S., is an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Montana State University WWAMI Medical Sciences Program and an Affiliate Professor in the Department of Biological Structure at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He earned his B.A. from Harvard College, and his M.D. from Cornell Medical College. For over 20 years, he has worked as a general surgeon as well as a surgeon with the U.S. Army Medical Corps during the Vietnam War, and on the hospital ship, Project H.O.P.E. Goodman currently teaches surgical anatomy to medical students at Montana State University, develops lecture series for The Great Courses, and writes historical fiction.

Founder of the Broward Surgical Society, Dr. Goodman is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a Diplomate of the National Board of Medical Examiners and the American Board of Surgery.

Dr. Goodman is a lecturer for The Great Courses, Chantilly, VA, selected from the top 1% of professors in America. His courses include "Understanding the Human Body: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology," "The Human Body: How We Fail, How We Heal," "Lifelong Health: Achieving Optimum Well-Being at Any Age," and "The Myths of Nutrition and Fitness."

Dr. Goodman is the author of the historical fiction novels, None But The Brave: A Novel of the Surgeons of World War II(2012) and The Shadow of God (2002). The Shadow of God was published in six languages worldwide and won great acclaim from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. A specialist in the surgical treatment of cancer, he is also the author of the non-fiction book, Never Say Die: Doctor and Patient Talk About Breast Cancer. He has appeared on national and regional television, including C-Span Book TV, Good Morning America, Montana PBS, and national and regional radio to discuss medical issues and the role of history in fiction.

Link to Anthony's website

This biography was last updated on 01/15/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anthony A. Goodman at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Shadow of God
The Shadow of God

by Anthony A. Goodman

An epic of bravery and courage, based on the true story of the 16th century siege of Rhodes. The author weaves a tapestry of terror and triumph set in a forgotten time of brutality, loyalty and honor. Read an exclusive excerpt at BookBrowse today.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anthony A. Goodman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell was born (in 1944) and brought up in Britain, where he worked in the British Broadcasting Centre (BBC), ending up as Head of Current Affairs TV for the BBC in Northern Ireland. While working in Belfast... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow of God

    Try:
    Heretic
    by Bernard Cornwell

  • Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernières, who lives in Norfolk, published his first novel in 1990 and was selected by Granta magazine as one of the twenty Best of Young British Novelists in 1993. Since then he has become well known ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow of God

    Try:
    Birds Without Wings
    by Louis de Bernieres

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...
  • Book Jacket: Complicit
    Complicit
    by Stephanie Kuehn
    When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  150The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Who Said...

They say that in the end truth will triumph, but it's a lie.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O O T F P, Into T F

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.