Louise Rennison biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Louise Rennison.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Louise Rennison
Photo: Jason Bell

Louise Rennison

Louise Rennison Biography

Louise Rennison lives in Brighton, the San Francisco of England (apart from the sun, Americans, the Golden Gate Bridge, and earthquakes). Since the success of her one-woman autobiographical show, Stevie Wonder Felt My Face, she has written for many British comedy stars and published several young adult novels featuring Georgia Nicolson. She has two goldfish, Finn and Bjork, who are her biggest fans.

From the author's website

Link to Louise's website

This biography was last updated on 12/22/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Louise Rennison

Grew up in?
A quite notorious place in Leeds Yorkshire, its often featured in documentaries as a place NOT to grow up in. I didn't know that at the time so consequently really liked it. I lived in a three bedroom house with my mum and dad and aunt and uncle and cousin, my grandparents and one of the those free form uncles that hang around. Also my grandmother was an Irish catholic and my grandad was a Yorkshire Jew so I leave it to you to imagine the weddings and funerals. There was a lot of fighting and crying and mad dancing.

Childhood ambition?
Erm, I thought (wrongly) I might be a famous Irish dancer, or one of those people who is just famous for being themselves. From a very early age I imagined there was a camera following me everywhere, which was a bit embarrassing when I went to the loo...but that is the price of fame.

Favorite sports team?
Leeds United football club or "Our brave lads" as I call them. Noble men all of them ...with lovely shorts.

Book to take on a desert island?
Something big and fat. Or possibly a "Guide to ship building"

Favorite city?
Well not be too sycophantic, oh go on then I will be, I LOVE New York, sadly because they seem to like English ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Louise Rennison at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Dancing in My Nuddy-Pants
Dancing in My Nuddy-Pants

by Louise Rennison

Georgia has finally put her red-bottomosity to rest and chosen Robbie the Sex God over Dave the Laugh in the fourth, and supposedly final, volume of Renninson's hit series.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Louise Rennison but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...
  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh
  2.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin

All Discussions

Who Said...

I am what the librarians have made me with a little assistance from a professor of Greek and a few poets

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.