Suzanne Gold biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Suzanne Gold.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Suzanne Gold

Suzanne Gold

Suzanne Gold Biography

Born and raised in northwestern Philadelphia -- Mt. Airy, Chestnut Hill, West Oak Lane and Germantown—Suzanne Gold went to the Philadelphia High School for Girls, a magnet high school for "academically talented young women" from all over the city. After a year at Albright College in Reading, PA, she got her Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Clinical Psychology from Temple University. She spent the next two years in New York and Boston, finally settling in California. She has worked as a psychologist and therapist in a psychiatric hospital and halfway houses, in drug treatment, and private practice. She also teaches classes in surviving a dysfunctional family, and has taught meditation, human potential and junior high school.

Gold is an award-winning vocalist and songwriter and performed for ten years in nightclubs, and at corporate and private parties. As an activist, she co-founded women Helping All People, a self-help group for women in public housing, and the Earth Day Every Day Fund, with the Marin Community Foundation. Her artistic expressions include making collages and jewelry from recycled materials, and photography.

While reading Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg, Gold was taken by Goldberg's idea of writing in cafes-- she said the noise and bustle occupies the part of your brain that would normally be telling you your writing stinks and you'll never amount to anything. She invited a friend to join her, and they met monthly in different cafes. Choosing a theme of the day, they'd write and read to each other what they wrote. Gold found herself turning memories from her childhood into fiction, and after a few of those, her friend declared it the foundation for Gold's next book. Suzanne was surprised, because to her, the stories seemed like simple reminiscences. But she trusted her friend's literary taste, so she kept writing, fictionalizing as she went, and the result is Daddy's Girls.

Based on her experience as a therapist and member of a family with mental illness, Suzanne is currently working on a book called Surviving a Dysfunctional Family: Ten Ways to Make Peace With the Past and Create a New Future. She currently writes a weekly column for United Press International's Religion and Spirituality website, a blog for The San Francisco Chronicle, and is a minister in the Universal Life Church.

Link to Suzanne's website

This biography was last updated on 12/04/2013.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

What's your background?

I've been a psychologist, professional vocalist, activist, artisan and teacher before becoming a writer, but my most profound lessons have come from learning to cope with my dysfunctional family. I've worked in a state mental hospital, drug treatment center, halfway houses for psychiatric clients, and in private practice. I'm also an award-winning vocalist and songwriter, working in nightclubs, corporate and private parties. As an activist, I worked with environmental and community self-help groups. I've taught junior high school, human potential workshops, and esoteric and meditative techniques. My fiction has been published in Northern Journeys, a literary magazine of the Pacific Northwest, and I've written articles and music reviews for SF Weekly, done business editing, public relations, grant writing. I also co-authored and self-published "Being Yourself: Twenty-Four Ways to See the Light", a self-help book that promotes spiritual awareness and peace of mind. and written two mysteries, as yet unpublished, that got rave rejections from New York publishers. I live with my artist husband, Dan Cooper, near San Francisco.

 

How did you come to write "Daddy's Girls?" 

While I was ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Suzanne Gold at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Daddy's Girls
Daddy's Girls

by Suzanne Gold

A rich yet simple tale of love, madness and spirit, told by the three women in a family on the verge of mental illness.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Suzanne Gold but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Virginia Holman

    Virginia Holman

    Virginia Holman is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize, a Roslynn Carter Mental Health Journalism Fellowship, and a North Carolina Arts Council grant. Rescuing Patty Hearst won the 2003 Outstanding Literature Award from the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daddy's Girls

    Try:
    Rescuing Patty Hearst
    by Virginia Holman

  • Susanna Kaysen

    Susanna Kaysen

    Susanna Kaysen was born on 11 November, 1948, and raised in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Her father is the economist Carl Kaysen (b.1920), formerly a professor at MIT and advisor to President John F. Kennedy.  In 1967 ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daddy's Girls

    Try:
    Girl, Interrupted
    by Susanna Kaysen

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh
  2.  254Cartwheel:
    Jennifer duBois

All Discussions

Who Said...

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.