Brad Newsham biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Brad Newsham.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Brad Newsham
Photo: bradnewsham.com

Brad Newsham

Brad Newsham Biography

Brad Newsham believes that the reason none of his careers--underground miner, newspaper reporter, waiter, bank secretary, and San Francisco cabbie--have lasted more than a couple years has something to do with the fact that he wandered into Afghanistan when he was twenty-two years old and made himself a promise. Take Me with You is Newsham's second book; his first, All the Right Places, is also a travel memoir. Newsham is a guest columnist for the San Francisco Chronicle and lives in Oakland, California, with his family.

Link to Brad's website

This biography was last updated on 12/19/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Brad Newsham interviewed by TravelersTales.com.
Reproduced with the permission of Travelers Tales.


Tell us about yourself (e.g. personally, politically, and professionally).

I've heard it said that one should be able to tell the pertinent facts of one's life in two minutes, and I think I've got that down. I'm 48, born and raised in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. My mother is the daughter of Czech immigrants who moved to Western Pennsylvania in the early 1900s--her dad was an underground coal miner. My father was a CIA cartographer for 33 years. Both were Christian Scientists, and although I am a graduate of Principia College, a school for Christian Scientists, I don't claim a Religion - except, perhaps, reading. I have an older sister and two younger brothers scattered between D.C. and Tokyo. I've lived in ten different states and visited all 50, and I've circled the Earth four times. With one chain saw and no electricity, two friends and I built a big log cabin from scratch, sort of, near the Clark Fork River in northern Idaho twenty years ago. I'm in my second and last marriage, and my wife Rhonda and I have a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Brad Newsham at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Take Me With You
Take Me With You

by Brad Newsham

A book you'll want to read and recommend over and over. With poignancy and persuasion, Newsham demonstrates the power individuals have to make the world a better place.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Brad Newsham but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Daniel Glick

    Daniel Glick

    Daniel Glick is the author of Monkey Dancing: A Father, Two Kids, and a Journey to the Ends of the Earth, published by PublicAffairs in Spring, 2003. The book is an account of a five-month, around-the-world trip ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Take Me With You

    Try:
    Monkey Dancing
    by Daniel Glick

  • J. Maarten Troost

    J. Maarten Troost

    Travel writer J. Maarten Troost was born in 1969 in the Netherlands and is of Dutch-Czech descent. He grew up in Canada and presently lives in Washington D.C. He is the author of three books which are about his experiences ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Take Me With You

    Try:
    The Sex Lives of Cannibals
    by J. Maarten Troost

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  90Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.