Nancy H. Dahm biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Nancy H. Dahm.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Nancy H. Dahm

Nancy H. Dahm

Nancy H. Dahm Biography

Nancy Hassett Dahm is a registered nurse who specializes in cancer care. Her experience in caring for over 400 cancer patients, since 1991, is the basis of knowledge for this book. Over the years, she has developed a clear and powerful vision of the problems and concerns of those who are facing cancer. Her experience in cancer pain management has led to the development of her nursing theory - The Continuum of Pain, The Continuum of Pain Control, which is included in her book, Mind, Body and Soul. It has served as the basis for maintaining almost all of her patients pain-free.

Her other credits include conducting programs and lecturing to the professional and lay community on the care of cancer patients.

Nancy received her Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from Long Island University, New York.

This biography was last updated on 11/27/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Nancy Hassett Dahm, Author of Mind, Body, and Soul: A Guide to Living with Cancer. ( By Caregiving.com , March 2001 ).
Q. Families so worry about the unexpected when they care for a terminally ill family member, especially because, as a society, we've done so little education about the dying process. Can you explain the dying process? What are the physical changes to the body during the last weeks and days? What about any emotional and/or spiritual changes?
A. Families do worry about the unexpected when caring for a terminally ill family member. This is natural, given that there is little published information on how to give care. Families are confronted with tremendous grief over the impending loss. Yet, they will have to care for their loved one, and watch the dying process despite that grief. However, it is a time when caring for a loved one at such a stage, is an opportunity to give and receive much love. Everyone fears the dying process. But that fear can be mitigated once everyone understands what is happening.

Let me explain. The dying process is not one process that occurs, but many. It is unique to each individual - not everyone dies in the same manner. There are many similarities...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Nancy H. Dahm at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Mind, Body and Soul
Mind, Body and Soul

by Nancy H. Dahm

If you or someone you love has cancer, this book is for you. It is a thought provoking, inspirational, and powerful paradigm on how to live with the many challenges confronted by cancer patients and their families.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Nancy H. Dahm but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Elizabeth Berg

    Elizabeth Berg

    Elizabeth Berg was born in St. Paul, Minnesota on December 2, 1948.

    Before Berg became a writer, she was a registered nurse for ten years, and that was her "school" for writing—taking care of patients taught her a lot ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Mind, Body and Soul

    Try:
    Never Change
    by Elizabeth Berg

  • Barbara Delinsky

    Barbara Delinsky

    Says Barbara Delnsky: "I was born and raised in suburban Boston. My mother's death, when I was eight, was the defining event of a childhood that was otherwise ordinary. I took piano lessons and flute lessons. I took ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Mind, Body and Soul

    Try:
    Uplift
    by Barbara Delinsky

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  131Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.