John J. Nance biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by John J. Nance.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

John J. Nance

John J. Nance

John J. Nance Biography

John J. Nance was born in Dallas, Texas on July 5, 1946. He was a pilot in the United States Air Force, serving in Vietnam, the Air Force Reserves, and in Operation Desert Storm. After retiring from active duty, be became a commercial pilot for first Braniff International Airlines and later for Alaska Airlines.

In the 1990s Nance joined ABC News as aviation editor for Good Morning America and Aerospace Analyst for ABC World News from 1995 to the present. He has also appeared as a national aviation commentator on over 1300 radio and television shows, including The MacNeil-Lehrer Report, Oprah and Larry King Live.

A New York Times bestselling, award winning author, two of Nance's nineteen books, Pandora's Clock and Medusa's Child, were adapted and aired as two four-hour television miniseries for NBC and ABC, respectively.

Nance holds both Bachelor of Arts and Juris Doctor degrees from Southern Methodist University and SMU Dedman School of Law. He is a founding board member and is on the executive committee of the National Patient Safety Foundation. He lives in Seattle, Washington.

Link to John's website

This biography was last updated on 06/23/2009.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John J. Nance at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Headwind
Headwind

by John J. Nance

An ex-president of the US is in danger. Captain Dayton flies him on an against-the-clock mission to find a safe haven while Harris's rumpled and outgunned lawyer wrestles an international team of legal sharks snapping at their biggest prize yet.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John J. Nance but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tom Clancy

    Tom Clancy

    Twenty years ago Tom Clancy was an obscure Maryland insurance broker with a passion for naval history and only a letter to the editor and a brief article on the MX missile to his credit. Years before, he had been an English... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Headwind

    Try:
    The Bear and The Dragon
    by Tom Clancy

  • Nelson DeMille

    Nelson DeMille

    Nelson Richard DeMille was born in New York City on August 23, 1943 to Huron and Antonia (Panzera) DeMille. He moved as a child with his family to Long Island. In high school, he played football and ran track.

    DeMille spent ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Blackout

    Try:
    The Lion's Game
    by Nelson DeMille

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Knowledge is of two kinds...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.