Lydia Millet biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Lydia Millet.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Lydia Millet
Photo: Ivory Orchid Photography

Lydia Millet

Lydia Millet Biography

Lydia Millet was born in Boston, Massachusetts and raised in Toronto, Canada. She holds a BA in Creative Writing with honors from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a master's degree from Duke University.

Millet is the author of multiple novels as well as a story collection called Love in Infant Monkeys (2009), which was one of three fiction finalists for the Pulitzer Prize. 2011 saw the publication of a novel called Ghost Lights, named a New York Times Notable Book, as well as Millet's first book for middle readers. In 2012 she published Magnificence, the third book in the cycle which included How the Dead Dream and Ghost Lights. In 2012 she also won a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship for her work.

She now lives in the desert outside Tucson, Arizona, with her husband, son and daughter; and works as an editor and writer at a nonprofit group devoted to endangered-species protection in Tucson, Arizona.

Link to Lydia's website

This biography was last updated on 12/11/2012.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Lydia Millet at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Magnificence
Magnificence

by Lydia Millet

Funny and heartbreaking, Magnificence is the story of a woman emerging from the sudden dissolution of her family.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Lydia Millet but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Megan Mayhew Bergman

    Megan Mayhew Bergman

    Megan Mayhew Bergman grew up in Rocky Mount, North Carolina and attended Wake Forest University. She has graduate degrees from Duke University and Bennington College. Her stories have appeared in the 2010 New Stories from the... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Magnificence

    Try:
    Birds of a Lesser Paradise
    by Megan Mayhew Bergman

  • Erin Morgenstern

    Erin Morgenstern

    Erin Morgenstern is a writer and a multimedia artist who describes all her work as 'fairy tales in one way or another'. She lives in Salem, Massachusetts with her husband. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Magnificence

    Try:
    The Night Circus
    by Erin Morgenstern

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...
  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Courage - a perfect sensibility of the measure of danger, and a mental willingness to endure it.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.