Lloyd Shepherd biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Lloyd Shepherd.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Lloyd Shepherd
Photo: Paul Clarke

Lloyd Shepherd

Lloyd Shepherd Biography

Lloyd Shepherd has worked for the past twelve years as a senior executive in the Internet business, holding senior management positions at Yahoo, the Guardian, Channel 4 and the BBC. Before his online career, Lloyd was a journalist covering the film and TV business for the likes of Financial Times and Variety. The English Monster is his first novel.

Link to Lloyd's website

This biography was last updated on 07/12/2012.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Revealing Questions

How would you describe your life in only 8 words?
Writing, shopping, cooking, reading, walking, parenting, listening, watching

What is your motto or maxim?
Shut up and deal with it.

How would you describe perfect happiness?
On a beach, lost in a book while enjoying a cool gin and tonic with my wife, while my children swim in the sea.

What's your greatest fear?
Something terrible happening to my children - usually involving falling off a high building.

If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?
Heron Island, on the Great Barrier Reef

With whom in history do you most identify?
A diplodocus

Which living person do you most admire?
My wife

What are your most overused words or phrases?
Idiot, amazing, boring

What do you regret most?
Giving up smoking

If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?
The ability to eat and not put weight on

What is your greatest achievement?
My children

What's your greatest flaw?
My glass is always half-empty

What's your best quality?
My glass is always half-full

If you could be any ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Lloyd Shepherd at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The English Monster
The English Monster

by Lloyd Shepherd

Based on the true story of the gruesome Ratcliffe Highway murders, The English Monster is a breathtaking voyage across centuries, from the Age of Discovery to the Age of Empire, illuminating what happens to Britain as she gains global power but risks losing her soul.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Lloyd Shepherd but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Susanna Clarke

    Susanna Clarke

    Susanna Clarke was born in Nottingham in 1959, the eldest daughter of a Methodist Minister. A nomadic childhood was spent in towns in Northern England and Scotland. She was educated at St Hilda’s College, Oxford, and has... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The English Monster

    Try:
    Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
    by Susanna Clarke

  • David King

    David King

    A Fulbright scholar with a master's degree from Cambridge University, David King is the author of the acclaimed Finding Atlantis, Vienna 1814, and Death in the City of Light. He lives in Lexington, Kentucky, with his wife and... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The English Monster

    Try:
    Death in the City of Light
    by David King

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  132Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.