Howard C. Cutler, M.D. biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Howard C. Cutler, M.D..

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Howard C. Cutler, M.D.
theartofhappiness.com

Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

Howard C. Cutler, M.D. Biography

Howard C. Cutler, M.D. has co-written several books with His Holiness the Dalai Lama, including The Art of Happiness and Ethics for the New Millennium. Cutler is a diplomat of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. He first met the Dalai Lama in 1982 while visiting India on a research grant to study Tibetan medicine. Dr. Cutler maintains a private psychiatric practice in Phoenix.

This biography was last updated on 11/08/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Q & A with Dr. Howard C. Cutler,
co-author of The Art of Happiness

Q: How did you come to know the Dalai Lama?

HC: In 1981, I received a small research grant from the University of Arizona College of Medicine to travel to Dharamsala, India to study the traditional Tibetan system of medicine. At that time, the Dalai Lama's late elder brother, Lobsang Samden, was director of the Tibetan Medical Institute, and it was through Lobsang that my first meeting with the Dalai Lama was arranged. Over the years since then, I've attended many of the Dalai Lama's public talks, arranged private audiences with him in India and during his visits to the U.S. whenever possible, and, acting as one of his hosts, had an opportunity to meet with him daily during a visit to Arizona in 1993.


Q: What inspired you to write The Art of Happiness?

HC: The Dalai Lama has always struck me as being a genuinely happy person, despite the tragic situation in Tibet, his personal losses, and the burden of many heavy responsibilities. I was curious to learn about his personal approach to living and the principles and practices that had enabled him to achieve this state of contentment. While I was aware that his attitudes had

been...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Howard C. Cutler, M.D. at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Art of Happiness at Work
The Art of Happiness at Work

by Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

An exploration of job, career, and finding the ultimate happiness at work. An invaluable source of strength and peace for anyone who earns a living.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Howard C. Cutler, M.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.