Moying Li biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Moying Li.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Moying Li

Moying Li

Moying Li Biography

Moying Li grew up in Beijing, China during the tumultuous Cultural Revolution (1966-1976).  During that period, Moying was primarily self-taught, following the reading lists her father, who had been a prominent screenwriter, sent to her from a "hard labor camp."  In 1977, when the China National Entrance Examination system was finally reinstated for the first time in ten years, Moying was among the first post-Cultural Revolution students to be accepted by Beijing Foreign Studies University. Two years later, she was selected to graduate ahead of schedule to join the faculty of her school.
 
In 1980, thanks to a generous scholarship and a plane ticket from Swarthmore College, Moying left Beijing where her family still lives, and traveled to the United States to pursue graduate studies. For the next ten years she immersed herself in what she had always craved, the unrestricted pursuit of knowledge.
 
One of the first private scholarship students from China since 1949 to attend a U.S. college or university, Moying earned an M.A. from Swarthmore College, a degree the school has only conferred every 15-20 years to the most qualified students. She then went on to receive an M.B.A and Ph.D. from Boston University.
 
Moying started publishing short stories, essays, and articles when she was still a college student in China. Her writings appeared in such publications as English Studies, English Literature, and Chinese Author. Her first book, Beacon Hill- Life and Times of a Neighborhood, (Northeastern University Press) won first prize, the prestigious "Julia Ward Howe Award," given by the Boston Author’s Club, as the best book published in 2003 by a New England author.
 
Moying was the National Co-Anchor of the television show "English as Second Language" for China Central Television (CCTV), the largest television network in China. She also served as an Assistant Producer for programs with TV1 of France, as well as the Christian Science Monitor Television’s coverage of the Tiananmen Square Incident in 1989.
 
Since 1994, Moying has been a Senor Vice President and Senior Equity Analyst with Marcus Capital Management, Inc., a Boston-based investment management firm.  Prior to this position, she was Assistant Director of the International Department of the Massachusetts Port Authority.  Moying began her professional career with the United Nations Development Programme in Beijing.

Moying also dedicates her time to several charities and non-profit organizations. She is President of the Boston-Hangzhou Sister City Association, and Treasurer and a Board Member of the Boston Author’s Club. She is in governance position with the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, the American Club in Beijing, and is a member of the Pen American Club. She is China Advisor to the President of Swarthmore College, as well as being an active volunteer and China advisor to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital’s China program. She is also on the Allocation Sub-Committee of the United Way of Massachusetts Bay. In addition, Moying and her husband are leading collectors of Chinese Imperial dragon robes. Works from their collection have been exhibited in Europe, North America and Asia. They were co-sponsors and exhibitors for the show, Draped in Dragons, at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.
 
Moying has lectured and written widely on business and social issues in China. She has lectured at the Sloan School of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Harvard University, the School of Management at Boston University, the Carroll School at Boston College, the College of Business Administration at Northeastern University, the Boston Bar Association, the Massachusetts Export School, and the Beijing International society. She has been interviewed by, among others, the British Broadcasting Corporation, Business Week, The Boston Globe, Harvard Magazine, and The Wall Street Journal on a variety of investment topics and her award-winning book on Beacon Hill.

Link to Moying's website

This biography was last updated on 08/16/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Author Statement from Moying Li, Author of Snow Falling In Spring: Coming of Age in China During the Cultural Revolution

I feel very fortunate that my memoir, Snow Falling In Spring will be published just a few months before the 2008 Olympic Games, which will be held in the city of my birth—Beijing.

As Pierre de Coubertin, the modern father of the Olympic Movement, once said, "The foundation of real human morality lies in mutual respect—and to respect one another it is necessary to know one another." The 2008 Beijing Olympics, and the time leading up to it, offers an unprecedented chance for China to interact and communicate with the rest of the world.

Overall, from the increasing media focus to the fast-growing commercial and cultural interactions, it is evident that the world has fixed its eye on China for quite some time. This attention will only intensify with the Summer Olympics. It’s estimated that 4.5 million people from around the world will visit Beijing in 2008, in addition to billions of others who will tune in via satellite television.

I believe that, in true Olympic spirit, a better understanding of human commonality and shared vision will emerge from this ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Moying Li at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Snow Falling in Spring
Snow Falling in Spring

by Moying Li

This inspiring memoir following the Author from age twelve to twenty-two, illuminating a complex, dark time in China’s history as it tells the compelling story of one girl’s difficult but determined coming-of-age during the Cultural Revolution.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Moying Li but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  103Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson
  2.  167The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.