Marina Lewycka biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Marina Lewycka.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Marina Lewycka

Marina Lewycka

Marina Lewycka Biography

Marina Lewycka, the daughter of two Ukrainians who were taken to Germany as forced laborers by the Nazis, was born in a British-run refugee camp in Kiel, Germany, in 1946. Her family settled in the UK shortly after. She studied at Keele University in Staffordshire, and has written a number of books of practical advice for carers of the elderly, published by Age Concern. Described as funny, open and energized, she is a longtime resident of Sheffield, England where she used to lecture in media studies at Sheffield Hallam University.  She is still attached to the University, but on a part-time basis.

Her first novel, The Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian (2005) was published when she was 58.  It tells of the exploits of two feuding sisters trying to save their elderly father from a Ukrainian divorcee, Valentina. It won the 2005 Saga Award for Wit and the 2005 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize (Lewycka was the first female winner of the prize which is awarded at the Hay literary festival and includes having a pig named after the novel!); and was shortlisted for the 2005 Orange Prize for Fiction.

Before Tractors, the only creative work she had had published was a poem in an Arts Council magazine about 30 years ago.  Often she doubted her dream of becoming a published novelist, but she says, "writing was a compulsion. Lots of very good writers never get published, and that could easily have happened to me. People think that good writers will always come out in the end, but I don't believe that." 

Tractors draws heavily on her own life, in fact initially she set out to write a memoir of her mother's life based on a tape of recollections she recorded in Ukrainian before she died, but Lewycka soon realized that she just didn't know enough, "so I was going to have to make stuff up, and in a way it was very liberating."  The tape also gave her an excuse to travel to Ukraine where she met her mother's sister for the first time.  Her aunt, some years younger than Lewycka's mother, had not heard from her sister in 62 years.

In an interview with the Guardian newspaper, she is asked how her family feel about becoming material for Tractors; to which she replies, "They have been very generous about it, really .... I feel bad about my sister. It must be awful for her, and I'd hate it if it happened to me. But you write about what you know. At least you start off by writing about what you know, and then the worst thing is that you invent stuff, and no one really knows what's real and what's invented, and in the end you don't even know yourself."

Lewycka found the key to unlocking her creative skills in the realization that she could express serious issues through humor. "You get funnier as you get older, but I hadn't connected with my sense of humour. I did for everyday purposes, but [before Tractors] I didn't have the confidence to do it with what I wrote. Tractors felt like a last fling really. I thought, 'What the hell? It doesn't matter what I write. I'll have a laugh and stick it on the internet.'"

After spending the best part of a decade writing Tractors, she took a creative writing course at Sheffield Hallam University to polish what she had written.  At the end of the course she was approached by the external examiner, who was also an agent, to see whether she wanted him to represent her.  She did!

Her second novel was published in the UK as Two Caravans in Spring 2007 and, later in the year, as Strawberry Fields in the USA and Canada. Lewycka's third novel, We Are All Made of Glue, was released in July 2009

Link to Marina's website

This biography was last updated on 07/27/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Marina Lewycka at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans)
Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans)

by Marina Lewycka

From the author of the international bestseller A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian comes a tender and hilarious novel about a crew of migrant workers from three continents who are forced to flee their English strawberry field for a journey across all of England in pursuit of their various dreams of a better future. First published in the UK as Two Caravans; later published elsewhere as Strawberry Fields
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Marina Lewycka but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Monica Ali

    Monica Ali

    Monica Ali is the daughter of English and Bangladeshi parents.

    She came to England at the age of three, and her first home was Bolton in Greater Manchester. Ali later studied at Oxford University.

    Her first novel, Brick ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans)

    Try:
    Brick Lane
    by Monica Ali

  • Chris Cleave

    Chris Cleave

    Chris Cleave is 35. He is a novelist and a columnist for The Guardian newspaper in London.

    His debut novel Incendiary won a 2006 Somerset Maugham Award, was shortlisted for the 2006 Commonwealth Writers Prize, won the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans)

    Try:
    Little Bee
    by Chris Cleave

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...
  • Book Jacket: Complicit
    Complicit
    by Stephanie Kuehn
    When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  158The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O O T F P, Into T F

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.