Marianne Wiggins biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Marianne Wiggins.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Marianne Wiggins
Photo: Lara Porzak

Marianne Wiggins

Marianne Wiggins Biography

Marianne Wiggins was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania in 1947 of Greek and Scottish ancestry.  Her father, a farmer, preached in a conservative Christian church founded by her grandfather.   She married at 17 and shortly after gave birth to a daughter, Lara, who she brought up on Martha's Vineyard (Lara is now a professional photographer in Los Angeles).  Wiggins's first book was published in 1975 but it wasn't until 1984 with the publication of Separate Checks that she was able to support herself with her writing.

Wiggins lived in London for 16 years and also briefly in Paris, Brussels and Rome.  She married Salman Rushdie in January 1988; a little over a year later, on Valentine's Day 1989, the couple learned that Ayatollah Khomeini had issued a fatwa against Rushdie for perceived blasphemies in The Satanic Verses (1988).  She lived in 56 different safe houses under the protection of the British government but, after six months, decided to take a flat (apartment) under an assumed name. In 1993, she and Rushdie divorced.

Since then, she has chased tornadoes in Nevada, explored the Amazon Basin and in general led "a really interesting life".  She currently lives in Los Angeles where she is a Professor of English at the University of Southern California. Her most recent book, The Shadow Catcher, is the first of a planned series of novels set in California.

In 1989 she won a Whiting Award (awarded to ten authors annually for exceptional talent and promise). She has also won an NEA grant and the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, and she was a National Book Award finalist in fiction for Evidence of Things Unseen.


Bibliography

Babe (1975)
Went South (1980)
Separate Checks (1984)
Herself in Love (1987)
John Dollar (1989)
Bet They'll Miss Us When We're Gone
(collection, 1991)
Eveless Eden
(1995)
Almost Heaven (1998)
Evidence of Things Unseen (2003)
The Shadow Catcher (2007)

This biography was last updated on 07/23/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Marianne Wiggins at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Shadow Catcher
The Shadow Catcher

by Marianne Wiggins

The Shadow Catcher dramatically inhabits the space where past and present intersect, seamlessly interweaving narratives from two different eras: the first fraught passion between turn-of-the-twentieth-century icon Edward Curtis (1868-1952) and his muse-wife, Clara; and a twenty-first-century journey of redemption.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Marianne Wiggins but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow Catcher

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

  • Timothy Egan

    Timothy Egan

    Timothy Egan is a national enterprise reporter for The New York Times and has a weekly column, "Outposts." He is the author of five books and the recipient of several awards, including the Pulitzer Prize. The Worst Hard Time ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow Catcher

    Try:
    Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher
    by Timothy Egan

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  43The Arsonist:
    Sue Miller
  2.  171The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.