Matt Beynon Rees biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Matt Beynon Rees.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Matt Beynon Rees

Matt Beynon Rees

Matt Beynon Rees: BUY-nun rees

Matt Beynon Rees Biography

Journalist and author Matt Beynon Rees was born in Wales in 1967 and studied at Oxford University and the University of Maryland.  He then worked as a financial reporter in London, Washington D.C. and New York before becoming the first Middle East correspondent for The Scotsman in 1996.  He speaks fluent Arabic and lives in Jerusalem.

As a journalist, he has covered the Middle East for over a decade, with the vast majority of that time spent amongst Palestinians and Israelis. He's a Contributor for Time based in Jerusalem, where he was the magazine's bureau chief from June 2000 until January 2006. In 2004 he published a nonfiction account of the divisions within Israeli and Palestinian societies called Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East.

His first detective novel, The Collaborator of Bethlehem, the first in a planned series of seven, was published in the U.S. in February 2007.  The series has been sold to leading publishers in France, Italy, Britain, Poland, Spain, Germany, Israel, Portugal, and Brazil.

He has wanted to be a writer since he was nine years old and his schoolteacher pinned a story he wrote on the classroom wall. The first mystery he ever read was The Maltese Falcon; he says, "Hammett inspired me to take not just the character but the whole social context of the story. Having been a journalist [in Jerusalem] for the past 10 years, I don't have to wonder what Palestinians are like."

He is described as a dogged reporter, wide reader, old movie buff, and fitness enthusiast.

Bibliography:

Nonfiction

  • Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East (2004)


  • Omar Yussef novels
  • The Collaborator of Bethlehem (2007)
  • A Grave in Gaza (2008)
  • The Samaritan's Secret (2009)
  • The Fourth Assassin (2010)


  • Historical novels
  • Mozart's Last Aria (2011)
  • Link to Matt Beynon's website

    This biography was last updated on 08/02/2011.

    A note about the biographies
    We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Books by this Author

    Books by Matt Beynon Rees at BookBrowse

    Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

    The Collaborator of Bethlehem
    The Collaborator of Bethlehem

    by Matt Beynon Rees

    For decades, Omar Yussef has been a teacher of history to the children of Bethlehem. When a favorite former pupil is arrested for collaborating with the Israelis, Omar is sure he has been framed. Then the wife of the dead man, also one of Omar Yussef’s former pupils, is murdered, possibly raped. And, as no one else will, it is up to him to investigate.
    Read More

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Readalikes

    All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Matt Beynon Rees but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
    How we choose readalikes

    • Izzeldin Abuelaish

      Izzeldin Abuelaish

      Izzeldin Abuelaish, MD, MPH, is a Palestinian physician and infertility expert who was born and raised in the Jabalia refugee camp in the Gaza Strip. He received a scholarship to study medicine in Cairo, and then received a ... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      The Collaborator of Bethlehem

      Try:
      I Shall Not Hate
      by Izzeldin Abuelaish

    • Jimmy Carter

      Jimmy Carter

      Jimmy Carter was born in Plains, Georgia in 1924, and served as thirty-ninth President of the United States. He and his wife, Rosalynn, founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization that prevents and resolves conflicts,... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      The Collaborator of Bethlehem

      Try:
      Palestine
      by Jimmy Carter

    We recommend 13 similar authors

    View all 13 Readalikes

    Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!
    Member Benefits

    Join Now!

    Check the advantages!
    Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

      •  
      • FREE
      • MEMBER
      • Range of media reviews for each book
      • Excerpts of all featured books
      • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
      • Browse by genre
      • Book club discussions
      • Book club advice and reading guides
      • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
      •  
      • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
      •  
      • Free books to read and review (US Only)
      •  
      • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
      •  
      • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
      •  
      • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
      •  

    Editor's Choice

    • Book Jacket: The Pope and Mussolini
      The Pope and Mussolini
      by David I. Kertzer
      The Pope and Mussolini is a riveting account of the parallel rise to power of the authoritarian ...
    • Book Jacket: The Promise
      The Promise
      by Ann Weisgarber
      Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
    • Book Jacket: Black Moon
      Black Moon
      by Kenneth Calhoun
      The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...

    First Impressions

    Members read and review books ahead
    of publication. See what they think
    in First Impressions!

    Books that
    expand your
    horizons.

    Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

    Find out more.

    Book Discussions
    Book Jacket

    Sailor Twain
    by Mark Siegel

    Published Mar. 2014

    Join the discussion!

    Win this book!
    Win The Steady Running of the Hour

    The Steady Running of the Hour

    "Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

    Enter

    Word Play

    Solve this clue:

    I T T O A Eye

    and be entered to win..

    Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

    Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.