Judith Lindbergh biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Judith Lindbergh.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Judith Lindbergh
Photo: Sigrid Estrada

Judith Lindbergh

Judith Lindbergh Biography

Judith Lindbergh was born in Worcester, Massachusetts. Her published work, ranging from travel and cultural pieces to short fiction and poetry, has appeared in numerous magazines and journals, including Archaeology Magazine, The World & I, Scandinavian Review, and the Canadian literary journal, Other Voices.

Also an accomplished photographer, Lindbergh's images of Greenland and Iceland have been exhibited at venues including The Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine and The Edward Hopper House. Several are included in Vikings: The North Atlantic Saga, published in conjunction with the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History's two-year traveling exhibition of the same name. Lindbergh also presented an excerpt from her first novel, The Thrall's Tale, as a special event at the Smithsonian.

Judith Lindbergh lives in New Jersey with her husband and two sons.

Link to Judith's website

This biography was last updated on 07/06/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

There have been novels set in ancient Rome, Revolutionary America, the Civil War, the French Revolution, etc., but the idea of setting a novel in the Norse colony of Greenland is totally original. What inspired you to write The Thrall's Tale? Describe the germ of this undertaking.
It all happened rather by accident. I had no particular interest in the period, although history, archaeology, anthropology, and myth have always been at the very root of my inspiration and passion. I was with my husband in downtown Manhattan many years ago—well over a decade now. It was a cold, gray day, and we were just meandering when we noticed a crowd at the edge of the docks at South Street Seaport. We worked our way through and discovered three Viking ships moored there—full-scale replicas that had sailed from Norway to Iceland, Greenland, and Canada, then down the North American coast, following Leif Eiriksson’s journey of discovery over 1,000 years ago.

What first struck me was the size of the ships—barely bigger than oversized rowboats, and completely open to the wind and sea and waves. They seemed utterly vulnerable, an adjective I never would have thought to apply to the Viking culture. The second thing that caught ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Judith Lindbergh at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Thrall's Tale
The Thrall's Tale

by Judith Lindbergh

Set in Viking Greenland in AD 985, this dramatic historical novel focuses on the intertwined lives of three women straddling the pagan past and Christian future
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Judith Lindbergh but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Anita Amirrezvani

    Anita Amirrezvani

    Anita Amirrezvani was born in Tehran, Iran, and raised in San Francisco. For ten years, she was a dance critic for newspapers in the Bay Area. She has received fellowships from the National Arts Journalism Program, the NEA's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Thrall's Tale

    Try:
    The Blood of Flowers
    by Anita Amirrezvani

  • Geraldine Brooks

    Geraldine Brooks

    Australian-born Geraldine Brooks is an author and journalist who grew up in the Western suburbs of Sydney, and attended Bethlehem College Ashfield and the University of Sydney. She worked as a reporter for The Sydney ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Thrall's Tale

    Try:
    Year of Wonders
    by Geraldine Brooks

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Take This Man
    Take This Man
    by Brando Skyhorse
    "A chorus of six men calling me Son might sound ludicrous to you, but to me it's the sound of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  133Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.