Tom Shachtman biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Tom Shachtman.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Tom Shachtman
Photo: Mark Connolly

Tom Shachtman

Tom Shachtman Biography

In Tom Shachtman's early adulthood he worked at CBS News for three years, learning the documentary craft on a wonderful series, The 21st Century, and then as Assistant Chief of the TV division of the National Geographic Society. After that he made documentaries for networks, local stations, syndicators, and other outlets, working as writer, and often as writer-producer-director. His best-known work was a trilogy of one-hour films: Children of Poverty, Children of Trouble, and Children of Violence. These won top prizes at San Francisco, New York International, and other festivals. His films have also won a half-dozen New York area Emmys, and been shown at the White House and in Congress.

Shachtman's first book, The Day America Crashed, was published in 1979, and since then he written nearly three dozen others. Currently he is working on a new one, The Science of the Founding Fathers, to be published by Palgrave Macmillan. Research on this book is being partly underwritten by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

His best-known recent book is Rumspringa: To Be or Not To Be Amish.

His book, Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold became the basis for a two-hour documentary special for BBC and PBS, broadcast in 2008. The program and his script for it won the American Institute of Physics' science writing award for 2009. The programs were made possible by a major grant from the National Science Foundation, with additional funding from Sloan.

He has also written books for children, including three novels, Beachmaster, Wavebender, and Driftwhister, (1988-1991) now published in several languages. His non-fiction children's books include The President Builds a House, about the work of Habitat for Humanity (1989), and, with Harriet Shelare, Video Power (1988).

His collaborations with criminologist Robert K. Ressler, the former FBI agent who coined the term "serial killers" and knows more about them than anyone else in the world, include Whoever Fights Monsters and I Have Lived in the Monster, both multi-million copy best-sellers overseas.

In addition to books, he has written articles for The New York Times, Newsday, Smithsonian, and the Hoover Digest, as well as for Huffington Post, History News Network, and the Washington Post's book blog.

He is a lifetime member of the Writers Guild of America, a longtime member of The Authors Guild, and a former president of the board and current trustee of The Writers Room in New York City, an urban writers' colony. He has recently stepped down from trusteeships at two other non-profits, the Connecticut Humanities Council and The Upper Housatonic Valley National Heritage Area.

He holds a B.S. in experimental psychology from Tufts University, an M.F.A. in theater from Carnegie Mellon, and he has taught writing at New York University and at Harvard University Extension. He has lectured on topics based on his books at more than a dozen other colleges and universities around the country.

Link to Tom's website

This biography was last updated on 01/12/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tom Shachtman at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Airlift to America
Airlift to America

by Tom Shachtman

This is the long-hidden saga of how a handful of Americans and Kenyans fought the British colonial government, the U.S. State Department, and segregation to "airlift" to U.S. universities, between 1959 and 1963, nearly 800 young East African men and women who would go on to change the world.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tom Shachtman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Ayad Akhtar

    Ayad Akhtar

    Ayad Akhtar is an American-born, first generation Pakistani-American from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He holds degrees in Theater from Brown University and in Directing from the Graduate Film Program at Columbia University, where ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rumspringa

    Try:
    American Dervish
    by Ayad Akhtar

  • Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

    Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

    Howard C. Cutler, M.D. has co-written several books with His Holiness the Dalai Lama, including The Art of Happiness and Ethics for the New Millennium. Cutler is a diplomat of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rumspringa

    Try:
    The Art of Happiness
    by Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

We recommend 15 similar authors

View all 15 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.