Jeff Goodell biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Jeff Goodell.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Jeff Goodell
Photo: 2005 Jonathan Barber

Jeff Goodell

Jeff Goodell Biography

Jeff Goodell was born and raised in Silicon Valley, where his family had lived for four generations. He has worked as a blackjack dealer, a glazier, a janitor, a bartender at a topless club, an editor at a Russian literary journal, and a technical writer at Apple. He has a BA in English from the University of California, Berkeley, and an MFA in Fiction Writing from Columbia University.

He began his career as a journalist covering crime and politics in New York City for 7 Days, a weekly magazine that won a National Magazine Award for General Excellence in 1990. Since 1996 he has been a Contributing Editor at Rolling Stone, where he has written about a wide variety of subjects, from hookers and politicians to climate scientists and internet billionaires. "Down and Out in Silicon Valley," a Rolling Stone story chronicling life in homeless shelters in the Valley, was chosen as one of the best business stories of the year by the editors of BusinessWeek. He has also written for lots of other publications, including The New York Times Magazine, The New Republic and Wired.

His first book, The Cyberthief and the Samurai (Dell, 1996), grew out of a Rolling Stone article and told the story of the hunt for notorious computer hacker Kevin Mitnick. His next book, Sunnyvale (Villard, 2000), a memoir about growing up in Silicon Valley, was selected as a New York Times Notable Book. In 2001, he wrote a story about the comeback of the U.S. coal industry for The New York Times Magazine. That article made him curious to understand more about what goes on behind the light switch and lead, indirectly, to his third book, Our Story (Hyperion, 2002), an account of nine miners trapped in a Pennsylvania coal mine for 77 hours, which was a national bestseller.

He spent the next three years reporting and writing Big Coal: The Dirty Secret Behind America's Energy Future (Houghton Mifflin, 2006). He spent a week in an underground mine in Pennsylvania, hiked through West Virginia with anti-mountaintop removal activists, rode a coal train through the Black Hills of South Dakota, toured coal plants in China, and spent a month in the North Atlantic with climate scientists aboard the R/V Knorr, a research vessel operated by Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. To research his latest book, How to Cool the Planet: Geoengineering and the Audacious Quest to Fix Earth's Climate, he spent several years with some of the world's top climate modelers, as well as Cold War physicists, philosophers, politicians, and crackpot entrepreneurs, all of whom are involved with the development of new technologies that might someday be used to manipulate the earth's climate to reduce the risks associated with global warming. How to Cool the Planet won the 2011 Grantham Prize Award of Special Merit.

As a commentator on energy and environmental issues, he has appeared on NPR, MSNBC, CNN, CNBC, ABC, NBC, PBS, Fox News and The Oprah Winfrey Show.

Link to Jeff's website

This biography was last updated on 01/15/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Conversation with Jeff Goodell about Big Coal: The Dirty Secret Behind America’s Energy Future

Why did you decide to write a book about coal?

In the spring of 2001, the New York Times Magazine sent me down to West Virginia to write about the comeback of the coal industry. Coal had played an important role in the election of George W. Bush in 2000 — West Virginia, an important coal state which hadn’t voted Republican in many years, was widely credited with giving Bush his margin of victory — and it was clear that coal would play an increasingly important role in America’s energy future. But visiting West Virginia was an eye-opening experience for me, in part because, like many Americans, I’d naively assumed that coal had gone out with top hats and corsets. I was astonished to learn that the United States burns more than a billion tons of coal a year, mostly to generate electricity. More than half our electric power comes from coal-fired power plants. In West Virginia, I got a close look at the high cost of our dependence on coal — not just the hundreds of square miles of mountains that have been decapitated by strip mines in the southern part of the state, but ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jeff Goodell at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Big Coal
Big Coal

by Jeff Goodell

As oil prices increase, Coal has effectively become the default fuel for electricity generation in the twenty-first century. Goodell debunks the faulty assumptions underlying coal's revival and shatters the myth of cheap coal energy.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jeff Goodell but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Mark Binelli

    Mark Binelli

    Mark Binelli is the author of the novel Sacco and Vanzetti Must Die! and a contributing editor at Rolling Stone. Born and raised in the Detroit area, he now lives in New York City. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big Coal

    Try:
    Detroit City Is the Place to Be
    by Mark Binelli

  • Marla Cone

    Marla Cone

    Marla Cone is one of the nation's premier environmental journalists. She has nineteen years of experience covering environmental issues, including fifteen years at the Los Angeles Times. She is the author of Silent ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big Coal

    Try:
    Silent Snow
    by Marla Cone

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.