Joanna Potts biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Joanna Potts.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Joanna Potts

Joanna Potts

Joanna Potts Biography

Joanna Potts received a First Class degree in Historical Studies from the University of Bristol, for which she was awarded the George Robertson Travelling scholarship. She received the highest marks in the 2001 graduating class for her dissertation, an oral history of Stalin’s Russia. This thesis was based on extensive and ground breaking original research, and was supported by a prestigious grant from the Economic History Society. While at university Joanna specialised in the study of Soviet Russia, concentrating particularly on the years 1917-1953. She also undertook in-depth research into Europe and the Second World War, completing a comprehensive study of Anthony Eden and Winston Churchill 1939-1945. So far for WARLORDS Joanna has helped to secure the early release of official documents from both the Cabinet Office and MI5. Previously she has worked as series researcher on the major Channel Four series ‘Empire’ presented by Professor Niall Ferguson. She also worked as a researcher on the accompanying book, described by the Economist as “a model of how to do popular history”. Her other recent research credits include ‘Ten days to D-Day’, also for Channel Four, and a biography of Margaret Thatcher for the BBC.

This biography was last updated on 12/17/2012.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joanna Potts at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Warlords
Warlords

by Joanna Potts

A fascinating "you-are-there" look at World War II through the lives of Hitler, Roosevelt, Churchill, and Stalin, told on a day-by-day, even hour-by-hour basis, affording unparalleled insights into parallel actions.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joanna Potts but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss has written nine books on American presidents, most recently Presidential Courage and The Conqueror. He serves as NBC News Presidential Historian, appearing regularly on all NBC News programs, hosting a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    The Conquerors
    by Michael Beschloss

  • Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson has been a journalist for most of his life.

    He wrote for his middle school newspaper and his high school newspaper, and then studied journalism at Boston University, where he worked on The News, a radical ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    K Blows Top
    by Peter Carlson

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...
  • Book Jacket: Complicit
    Complicit
    by Stephanie Kuehn
    When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  59Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O O T F P, Into T F

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.