Simon Berthon biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Simon Berthon.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Simon Berthon

Simon Berthon

Simon Berthon: birth-on

Simon Berthon Biography

Simon Berthon, recently described by the Daily Telegraph as a “formidable Second World War historian”, is one of Britain’s most distinguished writers and producers of television history. His previous book was ALLIES AT WAR (pub. Harper Collins) on the bitter sweet relationship between Churchill, Roosevelt and de Gaulle. He also made the 3 x 1 hour television series for BBC-2. Allies at War was variously described as: ‘brilliant .. if you enjoyed this series, there’s a handsome book by Simon Berthon to accompany it’ (Time Out); ‘one of the best history programmes I’ve seen in ages’ (Daily Telegraph); ‘compelling and thoroughly refreshing’ (Independent); ‘full of astonishing revelations and insights which made your mind boggle’ (Guardian).

Simon joined the BBC’s elite journalist trainee scheme in 1973 and, at the age of 27, became editor of BBC Northern Ireland’s controversial investigative current affairs programme ‘Spotlight’. In 1980 he moved to ITV’s investigative series “World in Action” where he won a Gold Hugo at the Chicago Film Festival. In 1990 Simon made his first major historical series, ‘The Shape of the World’, which won a Gold Medal at the New York Film and Television Festival. He co-wrote the accompanying book.

In 1996 he became a founding partner of 3BM Television, of which he is now chariman, and has presided over a stream of high quality historical and investigative documentaries ranging from ‘Cannibal’, ‘A World in Arms’ and ‘The Age of Terror’ (winner of the Broadcast multi-channel award) to ‘World War One in Colour’ and ‘Ten Days to D-Day’.

This biography was last updated on 12/17/2012.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Simon Berthon at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Warlords
Warlords

by Simon Berthon

A fascinating "you-are-there" look at World War II through the lives of Hitler, Roosevelt, Churchill, and Stalin, told on a day-by-day, even hour-by-hour basis, affording unparalleled insights into parallel actions.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Simon Berthon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss has written nine books on American presidents, most recently Presidential Courage and The Conqueror. He serves as NBC News Presidential Historian, appearing regularly on all NBC News programs, hosting a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    The Conquerors
    by Michael Beschloss

  • Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson has been a journalist for most of his life.

    He wrote for his middle school newspaper and his high school newspaper, and then studied journalism at Boston University, where he worked on The News, a radical ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    K Blows Top
    by Peter Carlson

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin
  2.  254Cartwheel:
    Jennifer duBois

All Discussions

Who Said...

He who opens a school door, closes a prison.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.