Advance reader reviews of The Book of God and Physics by Enrique Joven.

The Book of God and Physics

A Novel of the Voynich Mystery

By Enrique Joven

The Book of God and Physics
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2009,
    368 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 2 of 3
There are currently 17 member reviews
for The Book of God and Physics
Order Reviews by:
  • Ann D. (Clearfield, PA)


    Falling Star
    Enrique Joven has written what promised to be an exciting read, but fell short of the mark. This novel is loaded with names and dates important background to the story, but also with references to the internet and and "e-dialogue" which I found to be annoying. The characters are underdeveloped and the dialogue between them is flat. I started to be hopeful for some level of redemption with about 75 pages to go only to be let down at the end.
  • Dana W. (Elbridge, NY)


    The Book of God and Physics
    Fact and fiction,history and present day and an unsolved manuscript - it's all a reader could ask for. This is not a beach book however. It takes some time and effort to sort through the explanations of who's who, who was who and who tutored who, in the age when astrology and astronomy were connected to religion,king and country.
  • Karen R. (Columbus, OH)


    Interesting but....
    I loved the premise of this book, a Jesuit Priest, who teaches high school physics, is trying to decipher an old manuscript. Hector, the Jesuit Priest, is an interesting, personable character. He loves to utilize the internet whenever possible. He also enjoys making his physics students think. But, the prose was a little awkward, possibly translation issues. And the book bogged down a little in the middle. The last third of the book was exciting, interesting and hard to put down. So actually 3.5 stars.
  • Barbra W. (Dexter, MI)


    The Book of God and Physics
    I enjoyed this book. The characters were believable and well developed. The story was interesting and moved along at a very good pace. The author did a great job of mixing in astronomy and astrology, keeping the topic at a level that I (no background in either subject) could understand and that was relevant to the overall story.
    All in all a very enjoyable read.
  • Christine B. (St Paul, MN)


    Still A Mystery
    This book is very interesting albeit complicated. It is based on true facts which I appreciate - I had never before heard of the Voynich manuscript. This is an intense study of the manuscript's cryptography with a personal story woven throughout. I would recommend it but it is certainly not a quick read and one that requires a notepad and concentration. It is certainly thought provoking!
  • Diana C. (Delray Beach, FL)


    Astronomically Entertaining!
    Although chock full of intricate astronomical and astrological statistics and references, this novel is highly readable and entertaining. Following the main character (a Jesuit priest) and his acquaintances throughout their quest to decipher the ancient text called the Voynich Manuscript, keeps the reader not only interested but often times surprised with the story's twists and turns. This book is definitely not recommended for the reader wanting a quick story with no thought-provoking and educational material. For readers who loved The Flanders Panel, The Last Secret of the Temple and The Rossetti Letter, this one's for you.
  • Jane A. (Lakeport, Ca)


    The Book of God and Physics
    'Fiction' grounded in 'fact' makes for wonderful reading; it literally combines the best of both worlds. Enrique Joven has woven an engrossing tale around a centuries-old, medieval text that is currently housed at Yale University. (Copies are available on the Internet, and on CD)
    Brought to light in 1912 by a rare books dealer, the Voynich Manuscript is written in a code that scholars and scientists worldwide are trying to decipher, with no apparent success. This novel follows the efforts of several such protagonists as they travel through Europe exploring Jesuit monasteries searching for clues in old astrology and astronomy texts.

    Anyone with an interest in the history of the middle ages (and, astronomy, in particular) will be hooked in the first few pages.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  158The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.