Advance reader reviews of Doing Harm by Kelly Parsons.

Doing Harm

By Kelly Parsons

Doing Harm
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2014,
    368 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 3 of 6
There are currently 37 member reviews
for Doing Harm
Order Reviews by:
  • Aleksandra E. (Alpharetta, GA)


    Interesting premise
    I found the subject matter in this novel to be very intriguing yet for some reason I was not as "hooked" as I should be in a suspense novel. Revealing the antagonist half way through a book is an interesting approach but ultimately it lacked a "shocking" element to it. Nonetheless, it was an entertaining and light novel that would be perfect as a beach read.
  • Jean G. (Rockford, IL)


    No Harm Taken
    A 40 year career in the medical field made this book a natural choice and I was not disappointed in its authenticity. Although it held my interest, as it will everyone liking medical intrigue, I at first felt it an almost too uncomplicated read, with little literary value. But as the plot starts to twist and turn I no longer cared. And why not have a genuinely good read occasionally?
    The story spans less than 2 months in the life of a highly regarded chief resident surgeon. Technology of the 21st century appears to take a much too relevant role in the care of living, breathing humans. Its capabilities are endless for "doing harm" . This may incite some talk for book clubs. Slight letdown in the ending which also might be for discussion but still a great read.
  • Patricia S. (New Canaan, CT)


    Cat and Mouse Game
    Life seemed to be going well for Steve, a chief surgical resident at University Hospital, his wife Sally and their 2 daughters. He loved being in control-that's why he became a surgeon-but suddenly his life starts escalating downward-out of control. Who or what is responsible for the deadly mistakes at the hospital-doctors' recklessness, bad luck or a manipulative psychopath. A first novel by a doctor, the medical information is accurate, the book tightly written, and the tension rises despite part of the plot being disclosed halfway. I couldn't put the book down and finished it in one day, a month after I had shoulder replacement surgery. It's suspenseful to the last page.
  • Lori L. (La Porte, IN)


    Doing Harm
    This medical thriller takes the reader inside the world of chief surgical resident Steven Mitchell at University Hospital. Steven has the stereotypical arrogance of the gifted surgeon, which leads him to make some questionable decisions both medically and personally (flying solo on a difficult surgery when instructed to wait for help, defying hospital protocol, hacking, and cheating on his wife with a beautiful medical student). While he is not a very likeable character, as a reader you can certainly empathize with the predicament he finds himself in. More character development and less plot contrivances would have made this a better thriller. Readers who enjoy ER and Grey's Anatomy will likely enjoy this book.
  • Barbara P. (Hixson, TN)


    Exciting!
    For his first novel, I really enjoyed this medical thriller. Once started, I was unable to put it down. I don't think that his medical and technical knowledge was too much for the average reader. His writing flowed very well. I would recommend this novel for anyone interested in this genre. He may very well take over where Robin Cook leaves off.
  • Deborah D. (Old Forge, NY)


    a rollercoaster ride
    Like the carnival ride this book starts out slow building toward the wild ride. I wanted the action to start a bit sooner but once it did it was a heck of a ride. Lots of twists and turns indeed a thrilling read.
  • Nancy K. (Toledo, OH)


    Doing Harm
    This is a top notch medical thriller. Think of Robin Cook and John Grisham put together. It's exciting reading- one of those books you don't want to put down! The author is a surgeon so he knows what he is writing about. Yes, there is "blood and guts" but if you like to read about hospitals and mysterious murders, this is the book for you.

    If I had one comment or caution to make, it would be that the first-time author included too much for one book. Perhaps he is hoping to write a series and use the different "threads of the story" in the next books. I will look for him to see if there is a next one. Book Clubs will love this book and also anyone who likes to watch the medical shows on TV.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.