Advance reader reviews of Close My Eyes by Sophie McKenzie.

Close My Eyes

By Sophie McKenzie

Close My Eyes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2013,
    400 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 39 member reviews
for Close My Eyes
Order Reviews by:
  • Tracy B. (New Castle, DE)


    Two stories in one
    Just who is writing The Special Child story? Is it a strange story that Gen in writing? She is an author.That in itself is a morbid twist.

    Art is Gen's wealthy husband. Is he keeping a secret? What really happened to baby Beth? Gen & Lorcan are trying to cast off depressing & difficult pasts, or so we think. In this process they join together in the search for Beth. But just when you think you have figured out who you can trust it all changes again and again and again. Wonderful!
  • Marta M. (Santa Ana, CA)


    Good beach read
    I enjoyed reading "Close My Eyes". It kept me reading even though I wanted to go to sleep. It moves quickly and I wanted to be the main character's best friend. It is a book you think about long after it has been read. I don't usually read many thrillers, but I would if they were as well written as this one.
  • Shirley F. (Franksville, WI)


    Chills and thrills
    Close my eyes will probably be this year's Gone Girl because it is a psychological thriller but not as dark. It took me a while to get into the book, and I thought Gen was whiny and a little obsessive about the loss of the child 8 yrs previously. Art was too intense for me and I felt he pressed the IVF issue rather than letting Gen accept it. There were a lot of twists in the story and when I thought that I had it figured out, realized that there was more info to be had which changed my ideas. The diary writing and thought processing seemed too mature for the child to write. It was intriguing, painfully sad, and a little contrived but it had all the elements of a good story and will certainly appeal to a wide range of book groups.
  • Lisa B. (Denton, TX)


    Kept me on the edge of my seat
    This story of Geniver and the mystery surrounding the death of her baby 8 years before was impossible to put down. It was difficult tell if she was losing her mind or if someone close to her was deceiving her. The comparisons to Gone Girl and Before I go to Sleep are spot on.
  • Susan P. (Boston, MA)


    Close My Eyes
    A London woman very close to the end of her childbearing years still cannot forget her stillborn child from 8 years ago and is not sure whether she wants to keep trying IVF, as her husband wants. Then a stranger tells her that her child is alive. The news sends her into an obsessive hunt of trying to find the truth (good or bad) and trying to know whom to trust. An excellent page turner for readers of Rosamund Lupton, S. J. Watson, etc.
  • Carol N. (San Jose, CA)


    Close My Eyes
    What a ride! This psychological thriller deals with the ultimate betrayal. Filled with paranoia and confusion, this plot drags you in and keeps you engaged until the end. What a twisted road, the main character, Geniver, travels – from the lost of her only child at birth to 8 years later when a stranger tells her that her husband has betrayed her. The child is alive and well, but hidden. Who does one trust? Geniver searches for her child without the support of her family or close friends and along the way uncovers some very dark secrets. What she learns horrifies her. . . . what is her husband hiding? As she continues to delve into their past, she finds the answers to her questions...answers that will change her life forever. With a surprise ending one doesn't see coming, this author weaves a breathless thriller that kept this reader reading well into the night.
  • Darlene C. (Simpsonville, SC)


    Close My Eyes by Sophie Mckenzie
    I really enjoyed this book and any comparison to Gyllian Flynn's "Gone Girl" would be right on the money. The story line is different but the slow build, and the unpredictable twists and turns that get you hooked and unable to put the book down, are the same. Even if you're savvy enough to figure out who...the why will keep you riveted to the end. If you're a new reader or a long time reader (who can easily predict plots), this is a great read. You WILL be surprised! Bravo!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.