Advance reader reviews of Killer Heat by Linda Fairstein.

Killer Heat

By Linda Fairstein

Killer Heat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2008,
    384 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 4 of 5
There are currently 31 member reviews
for Killer Heat
Order Reviews by:
  • Peggy (San Diego CA)


    Hot Time in the Big Apple
    I was pleasantly surprised to find "Killer Heat" so enjoyable. I've read Linda Fairstein before and I had not been happy with the last couple books.

    This book kept the tension high and the characters, old and new, interesting enough to keep the pages turning.

    I like Alexandra Cooper and her pals. In this book Alex has to face trouble in a variety of directions and the multiple plotline keeps the book interesting. She has a rape case that looks like a done deal but in the justice system you never take that for granted. Now dead girls are showing up all over the city and the clues are scarce. You can feel the heat yourself as you immerse yourself in the story.

    It is an added bonus to learn a lot more about the history of New York's landmarks.
  • Joan (Ellicott City MD)


    Killer Heat
    The thing that keeps me reading Fairstein is her careful description of locations in and around New York. I would never have known about all of the small islands close to Manhatten. They were carefully described and an intricate part of the plot. I like Alex Cooper and her buddies. It is obvious that the author is familiar with the job they do. There were too many dead bodies in a short period of time to suit my taste. That being said, the antagonist was portrayed as a serial rapist. The book was a page turner.
  • La Deana (Norman OK)


    Killer Heat by Linda Fairstein
    Killer Heat is one of those riveting books that makes you want to ignore your family, skip your job and stay up until midnight reading to the very end! Linda Fairstein has consistently proven herself to be a top-notch suspense author in the vein of Patricia Cornwell or Kathy Reichs. Her plotlines are fast-paced but believable and her characters are richly drawn and endearing. Well, not the bad guys! Linda does an excellent job of keeping us guessing until the end. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read!
  • Barbara (Hilton Head SC)


    Killer Heat
    Linda Fairstein is a former Sex Crimes Prosecutor from New York City, and her knowledge of the law makes this book both educational and entertaining. She tackles two different cases in this novel.

    Alex, Cooper, the main character in Fairstein's novels,retries a case using new DNA evidence in a rape trial which resulted in a hung jury 30 years previously. Fairstein does a great job in describing the emotional scars which linger for the victim after so many years.

    The second thread in the novel revolves around a present day serial killer who brutally rapes and murders his victims. Fairstein does a great job of solving the crime in a way that keeps the reader guessing until the end.
  • Kathleen (New Brighton, MN)


    A little bit of history...and a whole lot of mystery!
    Killer Heat by Fairstein really stokes it up. A complicated, intriguing plot combines with the always entertaining repartee between ADA "Blondie" Cooper and NYPD Mike Chapman to create another sure Fairstein hit. The small islands in and around Manhatten almost become characters themselves as their histories play out in the search for the killer. This legal thriller does not disappoint as readers will be instantly caught up in the action packed story as well as in the balanced attention given to current, significant legal/crime issues. I had only read Entombed by Fairstein previously. With Killer Heat, I am now A FAN and I can't wait to read her other crime thrillers. Try this book and you will become a believer as well!
  • Kelly (Monterey TN)


    As expected
    Linda Fairstein books are not great literature but that is not a criticism. She writes thrillers, and Killer Heat delivers a good thrill. It is a fast paced story and she does a fine job of fleshing out her characters and giving them each a unique "voice". My only criticism would be that there are a couple of sub-plots that detract from the main story. These sub-plots are not developed and come across as filler material rather than complementing the main plot.

    Overall, the book is a good rainy afternoon read that will not disappoint either fans of the series or those reading their first Alexandra Cooper adventure.
  • Ashley (EASTON PA)


    Fairstein dishes out another
    I've read a total of two of Linda Fairstein's Alexandra Cooper novels previously and felt extremely let down by the poor character development and often boring chapters within the book. However, "Killer Heat" far outshined my minuscule expectations. The plot is fast-paced without the boring and unnecessary chapters mixed in.

    There's also a plot within a plot that takes up what could have been used as filler space, making it an interesting and quick read.

    "Killer Heat" was definitely worth the time to read it, with its interesting plot and thoroughly developed characters (even the "villain" was highly developed, and it was obvious in the writing). I'd definitely recommend this to someone who likes crime mysteries; and even a Fairstein reader who has been disappointed in the past.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

We must believe in luck. For how else can we explain the success of those we don't like?

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.