Advance reader reviews of Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny.

Bury Your Dead

Chief Inspector Gamache Novel, #6

By Louise Penny

Bury Your Dead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Sep 2010,
    384 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 3 of 4
There are currently 23 member reviews
for Bury Your Dead
Order Reviews by:
  • Linda W. (Walnut Creek, CA)


    Bury Your Dead
    The latest entry in Louise Penny's Three Pines mystery series finds Inspector Gamache in Quebec City recovering from serious injuries. I found this to be a highly compelling story. Previously Gamache has been like Poirot--a man who notices everything and uses his mind to puzzle out the truth in each situation. This time he doubts himself. He is more vulnerable and so much more human.

    He works alone trying to forget the recent past by delving into the long ago past. His research brings him in contact with the staff of the English Literary and Historical Society. They soon ask for his help in uncovering the truth about the death of a man found buried in a shallow grave in their basement.

    The story is set in the depth of the brutal Canadian winter. The backdrop for the story is the conflict between the English minority hanging on to a life style that is slowly being eroded and the separatists in this French province.

    Inspector Jean Guy Beauvoir is recovering in Three Pines. Gamache has him quietly looking into the results of their last case in the isolated village. The inspector soon learns what his chief has known all along. Three Pines is no ordinary place. Here he too, finds peace of mind and a sense of belonging sorely missing in his life.

    I highly recommend Bury Your Dead to mystery fans. The series is well written and has engaging characters. I would not choose this for my book club because I don't see a lot to discuss. Read it and enjoy!
  • Irene B. (Denton, TX)


    Bury your Dead
    I thought this book was well written, lots of dialog that made it easy to know the characters. Quebec City is a delightful place and was portrayed in such a way that made it seem like your were there. It's been years since I was in QC - I enjoyed the time there with Ms. Penny. Let's have more Louise Penny books
  • Lorraine R. (Southampton, New York)


    intelligent mystery
    Bury Your Dead is a well written mystery, that contained several sub-plot mysteries. The author interwove several different investigations. While it took a while to understand this, the reward was an interesting historical exploration of the mystery surrounding the burial place of Champlain; a murder investigation involving an anglo historical society; and a new look at a recent murder case. Through it all, the protagonist, Inspector Gamache rehashes the recent death of a fellow officer during a terrorist plot. A complex and at times confusing number of events being told at once. At the end it all comes together.

    Inspector Gamache was a most interesting character, thoughtful and fully human in his emotions. The historical look at Quebec was intelligently researched and it was fun to read about places I have been to in Quebec city. I would definitely recommend this book to history and mystery lovers. I look forward to reading more of Louise Penny's novels.
  • Vivian H. (Winchester, VA)


    Bury Your Dead
    I loved this book and hated to put it down. After finishing Bury Your Dead I am anxious to read the prior episodes in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache mystery series.

    The plot involves a delightful cast of eccentric, artfully crafted characters that feel real and comfortable, like a favorite pair of pajamas. It is clear Louise Penny has a sense of humor as well. She has crafted an engaging story interweaving the investigations of two murders with the flashbacks of Gamache's recent tragedy, the history of Quebec's founding by Samuel De Champlain, the continuing centuries old divisiveness and mistrust between the Anglos and French in Quebec, and vivid descriptions of place.

    Unlike many mysteries, Penny continues to keep one guessing until the final pages and the solutions do not feel contrived. Fans of P.D. James and Elizabeth George will love Penny's book!
  • Nona F. (Evanston, IL)


    Bury Your Dead: Louise Penny gets better with each book
    I was eager to read Louise Penny’s Bury Your Dead, the sixth novel in her mystery series featuring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache. Each novel in the series has built on characters and situations that occur in previous books, and Penny’s style and depth—which were always very good-- have also grown with the series. Bury Your Dead is absolutely superb in characterization, plot development and construction. It follows Gamache and his second in command, Inspector Jean Guy Beauvoir, as they recover physically and psychologically from a terrorist threat that has left four agents of the Homicide Division of the Surete du Quebec dead.

    Gamache, staying with his old Surete mentor in Quebec City, agrees to consult with local homicide authorities on a murder which has connections with Quebec’s founder, Samuel de Champlain, and which has the potential to provoke deeper divisions between Francophone and Anglophone Quebecoises. Beauvoir, at his Chief’s request, returns to the small village of Three Pines, the site of several of the previous books, to look again at the murder case which was the subject of the previous novel The Brutal Telling. In their isolation (Gamache is without his investigative team and far from his beloved wife Reine Marie; Beauvoir is without his badge and his Chief), each man not only solves the mystery at hand, but comes to a new understanding of himself.

    Penny provides sufficient background of the case from The Brutal Telling to allow new readers to the series to follow Inspector Beauvoir’s case, but the greatest satisfaction and emotional impact from this novel will be felt by those who have enjoyed the investigations of Gamache, his team, and the denizens of Three Pines in the past. Readers would be well rewarded to read some prior books in the series, especially The Brutal Telling, before embarking on this excellent novel. Murder mystery aficionados looking for more than a cozy or romantic mystery, who want to look into the depth of the human heart and its capacity to both wound and heal, would be well advised to look at Louise Penny's series.
  • Joyce W. (Rochester, MN)


    Bury Your Dead
    A wonderful literary read--the mysteries were well paced and solved. I pictured myself walking the streets of Old Quebec. Really enjoyed learning about the Francophones versus the Anglos and Champlain's story. Wonderful characters with flaws, guilt and regret like every human.
  • Nancy M. (Greer, SC)


    Bury Your Dead
    If you have not yet met Chief Inspector Armand Gamache you are truly in for a treat with this book. While trying to finally come to grips with a very emotional and tragic episode involving the Surete du Quebec, Gamache and his agent Jean Guy Beauvoir each find themselves involved in mysteries with roots in the past. The majority of the history in the book concerns Samuel de Champlain and it was fascinating to learn about him and the history of the French and English conflicts through the eyes of Gamache. A beautifully written book with wonderfully rich characters and a wonderful village mystery, or two.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  125Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.